Wednesday, May 14, 2014

May 2014: COA’s BLET Program Holds Graduation Ceremony

For Immediate Release
May 14, 2014
CONTACT: Lisa Johnson,
Development Officer & External Relations
Release No: 35LJ-PR-2014

COA’s BLET Program Holds Graduation Ceremony

College of The Albemarle’s Basic Law Enforcement Training (BLET) Program held a Graduation Ceremony on Thursday, May 8, 2014 at the Elizabeth City Campus.  Dr. Kandi W. Deitemeyer, President of COA welcomed graduates, family, local law enforcement instructors and sponsors, and friends to the ceremony.  Chief Eddie Buffaloe, Jr. of the Elizabeth City Police Department provided the keynote address for the event.

Photo caption: 
Back Row:
Austin Simpson, Evan Stowe, Brian Callon, Matthew Odom, Ralph Duncan, Marquise Ross, Anthony Beach, David Hill.  Front Row: Director Tommy McMasters, Administrative Assistant Amanda Everett, Thomas Voorhees, Mark Hager, Katharine Sanford, Henry Smith, Christopher Crawford, Jeremy Jones, WDCE Vice President Suzanne Rohrbaugh, President Kandi Deitemeyer.

Mr. Tommy L. McMasters, Jr., Program director for COA’s Law Enforcement Programs, along with Dr. Deitemeyer, and Wayland Mitchell, BLET Qualified Assistant presented the graduates with their           certificates.  In their sixteen weeks of training, these graduates completed 624 contact hours, studied 35 distinct blocks of instruction, took 35 topical tests, took 19 practical exams, and successfully completed the POPAT physical training course.

Special recognition was awarded to Katharine Sanford as the group’s honor graduate, Christopher Crawford as “Top Gun”, as he was the most proficient shooter in Firearms Training, Thomas Voorhees received the “Iron Man” award for having the highest average fitness level, and Henry Smith received the “Law Enforcement Excellence” award for exhibiting exceptional law enforcement qualities.

The ceremony honored the following students, listed by county of residence:

Camden County:  Ralph Duncan.
Currituck County:  Mark Hager, Matt Odom, Henry Smith, and Thomas Voorhees.
Dare County:  Anthony Beach, Christopher Crawford, and Evan Stowe.
Edgecombe County:  Jeremy Jones.
Hertford County:  Marquise Ross
Pasquotank County:  Brian Callon, David Hill, Katharine Sanford, and Austin Simpson.


No comments:


Related Posts with Thumbnails